Board of Commissioners

Board Appointments

The Housing Authority of the Borough of Madison was created by municipal ordinance, pursuant to the provisions of the New Jersey Local Housing Authorities Law, NJSA 55:14A-1 to 55:14A-58. This law today has been codified and is now referred to as the Redevelopment and Housing Law, NJSA 40A:12A-1 to 40A:12A-49. The governing body appoints 6 members of the Board of Commissioners for 5-year staggered terms, with 1 being a mayoral appointment. The seventh member is a State appointment chosen by the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs of New Jersey for a 5-year term.

Board Powers

The Madison Housing Authority is an autonomous body whose powers are prescribed by state law and by a Housing Cooperation Agreement with the Borough of Madison. Its powers cover a broad range, enabling it to build, rehabilitate, maintain and operate housing for low and moderate-income residents of the Borough. The Madison Housing Authority functions within the legal restrictions of the Borough Zoning Ordinance, which requires governmental approval of all variances and zoning changes. However, if there are no variances or other zoning approvals necessary, the Authority may proceed without any governing body’s approval. All building undertaken by the Authority must conform to all municipal and state building codes. The Authority may acquire property by right of eminent domain, issue bonds for corporate purposes and negotiate with the federal government for financial aid and cooperation.

Current Board of Commissioners 

   Lois Bhatt, Commissioner                                                                                                                                                                               Aug 11, 2018 - Aug 10, 2023                                                                                                                                                                           Governing Body appointment

   Mark Chiarolanza, Commissioner                                                                                                                                                                   Jan 12, 2018 - Jan 11, 2023                                                                                                                                                                           State appointment

   Diane Driscoll, Vice Chairperson                                                                                                                                                                     Aug 11, 2021 - Aug 10, 2026                                                                                                                                                                           Governing Body appointment

   Mark McBride, Commissioner                                                                                                                                                                         Sept 9, 2019 - Aug 10, 2024                                                                                                                                                                           Governing Body appointment

   Caridad Reyes, Commissioner                                                                                                                                                                       Aug 10, 2024                                                                                                                                                                                                   Mayoral appointment

   MarySue Salko, Commissioner
   March 27, 2023
   Council Appointment

   Jeffrey Smith, Chairperson                                                                                                                                                                             Aug 10, 2017 - Aug 10, 2022                                                                                                                                                                           Governing Body appointment

   John Hoover, Borough Council Liaison