Safely, Legally & Anonymously
Surrender an Unwanted Infant
New Jersey's Safe Haven Infant Protection Act allows an individual to give up an unwanted infant safely, legally and anonymously. The parents - or someone acting on their behalf - can bring a baby less than 30 days old to any hospital emergency room or police station. The New Jersey Department of Children and Families will take the infant into custody and place the infant with a foster or pre-adoptive home.
New Jersey Offers a Safe Haven
On August 7, 2000, the New Jersey Safe Haven Infant Protection Act became law. Sponsored by Assembly Speaker Jack Collins and Assemblywoman Charlotte Vandervalk and Senators Anthony Bucco, Gerald Cardinale, Diane Allen and John Girgenti, the law allows a distressed parent who is unable or unwilling to care for an infant to give up custody of a baby who is less than 30 days old, safely, legally and anonymously. All that is required is that the baby be brought to a hospital emergency room or police station in New Jersey. As long as the child shows no signs of intentional abuse, no names or other information is required from the person delivering the baby.
For more information visit www.njsafehaven.org